University of Westminster

University of Westminster

Who is the University of Westminster and what do we do?

The University of Westminster was founded in 1838 as the Royal Polytechnic Institution in the heart of London. Technological innovation is still at the core of studies offered, sustaining the traditions set by our re-founder, Quintin Hogg, when the Polytechnic was re-founded in 1882 in Regent Street. We have over 20,000 students studying across five faculties, and over 1000 staff. We are one of the top 100 most international universities globally and our students come from over 150 different countries. In partnership with schools and colleges across London we provide access and outreach programmes to support students from a wide range of backgrounds to prepare for higher education study.

How the University of Westminster will help students at the UTC

  • The University is proud of its Polytechnic heritage and its success in developing graduates with the right attributes, knowledge and skills for careers in Engineering and the Built Environment industries.
  • Westminster’s Mobile Learner approach will help to ensure that all UTC students benefit from their learning opportunities wherever they take place – at the UTC, in Employer Alliance partner workplaces, at the University, and on external visits.
  • We will provide opportunities for UTC students to engage with University life by taking part in seminars, workshops and talks at our West End campuses. UTC students will be offered access to specialist laboratories in the Faculty of Science and Technology close by the BT Tower in Fitzrovia, and studios and workshops in the Faculty of Architecture and the Built Environment opposite Madame Tussauds in Marylebone.
  • Westminster Student Ambassadors will mentor UTC students, providing CV and application letter review advice.
  • Westminster academic tutors will contribute to UTC learning activities and give specialist guest presentations.
    Students completing their studies at the UTC will be guaranteed a place to study at the University if they meet the conditions in the offer of a place.


UTC students will be encouraged to apply for any course for which they can demonstrate an interest and relevant prior learning. Those which relate directly to the UTC curriculum are:

  • Computer Systems Engineering
  • Computer Network Security
  • Computer Science
  • Business Economics
  • Business Information Systems
  • Construction Management
  • Building Surveying
  • Architecture
  • Architecture and Environmental Design
  • Designing Cities: Planning and Architecture
  • Architectural Technology

Academic Qualifications Required

GCSE English, Mathematics, and Science plus two other subjects at Grade 5-9 or equivalent (Grade A* – C or plus).
Level 2 or above in an Engineering or relevant Technical Studies subject, together with Level 3 qualifications (A levels or Diplomas) as specified for each specialist degree subject

Visit the University of Westminster’s website