Governors / trustees

Governors / trustees

There are seven Trustees on the UTC Board, all registered with Companies House.
The Chair and Deputy Chair are both nominated by the University of Westminster, and together with the Employer Alliance nominees, they form the majority of Trustees.
The nominees of the Sir Simon Milton Foundation (SSMF), the UTC’s co-founder and charity partner, both have a Local Authority background with expertise in governance and children’s education.

Governors/ Trustees PDF

The UTC Trust operates in shadow governing body mode prior to September 2017 when the UTC opens. Elections will be held for parent governors and a staff governor in Autumn 2017.
Monthly Trust meetings are convened by a trained Academies Clerk from London’s Tri-Borough Education Services team.

Regular Project Steering Group meetings coordinate the work of the different work streams in the final year prior to opening. This group reports to the UTC Trust

Sir Simon Milton Foundation nominated UTC Trustees

  • Andrew Christie, Tri-Borough Executive Director for Children’s Services to May 2016; now Commissioner
  • Duncan Whitfield, Strategic Director of Finance and Governance, Southwark Council

UTC Employer Alliance nominated UTC Trustees

      • Bill Templeton, Apprenticeship Development Manager, Network Rail; Deputy Chair of UTC Trust to January 2016; lead Trustee for Marketing Group
      • Paul-Flexney-Briscoe, Director, London Portfolio, Land Securities; lead Trustee for our UTC’s Design Group